1) Research homeschooling in Missouri.
- Read the transcript (May 2016) conversation with HSLDA attorney Scott Woodruff about Missouri homeschooling law. Basically, there are three steps:
- You need to keep track of work samples of your child.
- You need to keep a record of periodic assessments.
- You need to have documentation showing a thousand hours of instruction during the school term that you set.
2) Establish your homeschool program.
3) Become a member of Midwest Parent Educators (recommended).
One of the best things you can do for your homeschool is to find friends and resources to support and encourage you in your journey. It’s not a sprint, but a marathon!
Just $50 a year gives you membership that includes the following benefits:
- Free admission to our annual homeschool conference (a more than $60 value!)
- Discounts to our annual standardized testing for grades K – 11
- High school graduation ceremony (must meet certain criteria – call MPE office)
- Special discounts on attending our annual used curriculum sale
- Subscription to our newsletter, The Parent Educator, filled with local events and opportunities for area homeschoolers
- Access to our MPE Sisterhood Group
- Discounts to HSLDA and Women’s Encouragement Day
- Access to MPE membership Directory (free business listing for members as well)
4) Enroll with Home School Legal Defense Association (recommended).
Note: When you become an MPE member at the Family tier or higher, you can get a $15 discount on an annual HSLDA membership!
5) Formally withdraw from the current school by phone, letter, or in person.
BONUS: Download our free eBook “The Definitive Guide to Homeschooling in Kansas or Missouri” for a comprehensive, step-by-step walkthrough!